Altered Canvas

13/07/2014 18:16

Again, I love anything altered.  I love canvas'.  They give you a blank slate to do with whatever you want.  You can paper mache them, paint them, rip them, anything.  I had bought some burlap rippon with lace along the edges at Love is in the Details.  I wanted to use it up in a shabby chic kind of way.  I also love Prima doll stamps and wanted to use that as the center on the canvas.  So during the crafty week I had all to myself.. I decided to do a canvas.

While having season 2 of Parenthood on in the background, I then sat down and stared at the white canvas for about 1/2 an hour.. hahaha not really that long, but seemed like it

  

I wanted to get my hands messy, so pulled out my paints and baby wipes (for clean up after) and got busy.

I first painted the canvas using pink, grey and blue..

I first painted it all with gesso and waited till it dried.  Then I painted it with the colors.  It ended up looking like this..

I not only did the front, I painted the back of the canvas too.  You'll see why later.  I took a brown distress ink pad and wiped it over top of the canvas and inked along the edges.  Next was the modge podge.  I painted that all over the front and the back.  

I used my Heat It blow dryer to dry each coat I did.  In this pic, you see me drying the gesso..

 

I then found a Prima sheet of paper that I liked and cut it down to the same size as the canvas.  I also had a light chipboard piece that I cut to size.  I stamped the page with blue paint using a music note stamp on the corner of the page, took my distress ink pad and rubbed it over lightly.  

It looked like this..

I then adhered the page to the chipboard piece and hot glued it to the back of the canvas with the Prima paper facing in.

After I did all that, I started cutting and pulling back the front of the canvas like this..

I folded back the edges and scrunched them in to hot glue them to the wood frame of the canvas and set aside to dry.  I stamped the Prima doll and cut it out.  I colored her hair and top with copic markers.  Then, I used pink lace ribbon and cut it in strips.  I started with one strip at the bottom of her dress and then I kept making layers with the ribbon to create a lacy skirt.  I added a pearl button at the waist and an adhesive pearl on her hair band.

When the frame was dry, I started adding the canvas ribbon.  I cut it up into four strips and scrunched them up and glued them onto the corners.  I then used burlap ribbon on the left hand side and lace ribbon on the right.  I had a swirly laser cut piece and inked it and glued it on top of the lace.  Then I added the button on top of that.  Glued on flowers onto the bottom left hand corner and a resin key to the top left hand corner.

I then used cheese cloth and scrunched it up and placed on the inside of the canvas and adhered the Prima doll tag on top of it.  I found wording that I liked..  "Inner beauty doesn't need make-up" and printed it off onto a light tan cardstock.  I cut up the words into pieces and glued them onto some burlap ribbon.  Then placed them inside the canvas.  I added a couple of bling drops and a Paris charm and it was complete.

Here are some pics of the finished piece.