My Happy Place

06/07/2014 00:33

I've been lucky enough to always have a scrap room.  But after oogling for years some of peoples' craft spaces, I was so envious.  There are some beautiful scrap rooms out there... my all time favorite was a shed that a husband had built for his wife and she turned it into a scrap studio.  I loved, loved, loved it.  I finally decided to take the time and create my own craft studio.  Before Christmas, I chose the colors... a turqoise and lime green.  Then I started looking for furniture... IKEA had pretty much everything I wanted.  I joined a scrap organizing group on Facebook and saw the cutest craft cart.. in torqoise.. had to have it.  That was my first purchase.  Kev put it together that night and I actually slept with it by my bed for two nights before I filled it up.  Best purchase ever and I highly recomend it.  If I'm on the main floor and want to scrap, I fill up my little cart and take it down with me... I even take it to crops!  So, anyways, back to my scrap room...  I picked out the colors, bought the cart, now needed the extra motivation to get going on remodelling my scrap room.  I went to my friend's Lori's new townhome and she had set up a craft space in her rec room.  It had a few antiques, great organizational ideas and I loved it.  That was it, I needed to start on my room... enough procrastination.  

I emptied the room and then painted it.  Three walls turqoise and one wall lime green.  OMG, LOVE IT!  Happy colors!  Then I went to IKEA and bought a desk and two Expedit shelving units in TURQOISE!  Found a great little shelf cabinet on sale at Target plus a distressed wood and glass storage container at Michaels.  Also from Michaels, I picked up some ceramic pieces meant to look like antiques and an oversized alarm clock.  Next, back to IKEA for a shelving unit for my tv and dvd player.  Kev built the shelving units and I did the rest.  Then the fun part and also the longest part.. putting everything in it's place.  Here's the final pics...

I love my room.  It is definitely my happy place.  Sometimes, I just go in to take a breather, look around, smile and then walk out again.  I'm so glad I finally got it done.  I spend a lot of time in here.  In the last few months, I've added some things and it gets messy when I'm creating.  But it's all mine...