Thank you card

13/07/2014 15:55

I had some supplies on hand and these great laser tag words that I had bought from Love is in the Details that I wanted to use and play with.  I decided to start with a thank you card.  I wanted it to be masculine and really, really wanted to use a vintage truck photo that I received from a dear friend.  I had also bought some chipboard gears from Love is in the Details and been itching to use them.  

 

I first started with the gears.  I wanted to make them look like steal with some ware to them.  So I used Inka Gold in silver and smeared that over the lasered cut pieces, which area like chipboard. 

I then took my little black ink pad and brushed it right on top of the pieces.

I love these small ink pads because I can use it directly on pieces and is so workable.

Next I did the thank you piece the same way.

I had a bunch of pre cut kraft paper cards that I absolutely love using.  Love how you can distress them and make them look either grungy or vintage.  For this particular card, I inked the edges on the front for distressing and then I used the silver Inka Gold and smeared along the corners and went over it with the black ink pad.  I adhered two scraps of cardstock to the front too.

I then started adhering the picture, the gears and the thank you.  I always play around with the pieces first, try placing them in different spots before I use adhesive.  I'll get up and walk around and come back to it, to get a fresh view.  I will do this a few times, each time I change something up.  I do this for everything I do.  Out of everything I do, the placement is the longest process.  

Here's the finished card.. front

and here's how it looks on the inside...